Lakeside Amusement Park (sometimes referred to as "White City," as in this Colorado Transcript newspaper article) opened on May 30, 1908, to a crowd of 50,000. Amazingly, the park has only changed ownership twice during its long history. The Lakeside Realty and Amusement Company, originally led by brewery magnate Adolph Zang, sold the park to Benjamin Krasner in 1935. Mr. Krasner's daughter, Rhoda, owns the park today.
Why was Lakeside Amusement Park once referred to as "White City?" During the early part of the 20th century, there were several White City amusement parks scattered throughout the United States, Great Britain, and Australia. The name "White City" originated at Chicago's Columbian Exposition of 1893, which featured amusement rides nestled among the exposition's neoclassical buildings awash in white Plaster of Paris.
Today, a trip to Lakeside is a stroll through a bygone era. Although the swimming beach, casino, theatre, race track, and public pool are no longer in operation, many classic rides survive, including the Cyclone coaster, the Wild Chipmunk, and the miniature train that circles Lake Rhoda.
Click HERE to view a gallery of historic Lakeside Amusement Park images from our photo collection. Be sure to view this gallery the next time you visit Lakeside—and prepare to be amazed by how many of the park's 20th-century buildings and rides live on.
[Want to learn more? We recommend David Forsyth's Denver's Lakeside Amusement Park: From the White City Beautiful to a Century of Fun]