Western History & Genealogy Blog

Research/Databases

Digital Archiving in the 21st Century! (or at least in the early part of it...)

Digital Transitions--RCam, with Phase One P65+ digital back
Ability to capture incredible detail!  (We promise we're not counterfeiting!)
Detail from Robinson's Atlas of Denver 1887, Plate 13

After nearly three years of research, planning and developing strategy-- (alongside a strenuous attempt to stay on pace with sprinting technology) the Imaging Services Lab of DPL's Western History and Genealogy department is at long last moving into the next phase of its evolution, and the 21st Century.

When our program began not-so-long-ago in 1996-- I doubt very much that those involved could have conceived of the changes-- and new sets of challenges-- that technology would deliver in ten years'

Bluebird Theater's Blue Nights

Bluebird Theater's Blue Nights

A Denver Theater's Unexpected History

Denver's Bluebird Theater has a long and storied history. When first opened in 1914, the Bluebird was a neighborhood movie theater.

New GLBT Collections Page

New GLBT Collections Page

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered collections in Western History!

The Western History/Genealogy Department of the Denver Public Library is proud to house organizational records of Equality Colorado and other pioneering community groups, as well as collections o

Weird Photo Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Weird Photo Wednesday, July 27, 2011

I want a want ad! Weird Photo Wednesday for July 27th, 2011

Not everyone sees an elephant trying to buy a want ad! Talk about weird. At least he won't forget what the ad was about!

Tours introduce hundreds to the Western History Collection

Behind the scenes tour in the archive section of the Western History/Genealogy Department

There is more to the Denver Public Library than the items that are checked out each year.

One of the unique features of the Denver Public Library is the Western History/Genealogy Collection. It contains tens of thousands of items that do not circulate.

Manuscript Monday: Corky Gonzales

Manuscript Monday: Corky Gonzales
Manuscript Monday: Corky Gonzales
Manuscript Monday: Corky Gonzales

 Corky Gonzales was a Denver-born, Mexican-American activist, poet, sportsman, and much more.  Learn more about him in this week's Manuscript Monday.

 

Ancestry Library Edition Fresh New Look

McGinnis and Family, Laird, Yuma Co., Colorado

What is cleaner and fresher? Ancestry Library Edition home page for researchers.

Available through all Denver Public Library locations, Ancestry Library Edition has mounted a fresh face.

Presentation: Chatfield Story

Chatfield Story cover

The Authors of Chatfield Story will be at the Denver Public Library to discuss their book about Civil War Private, Edward L. Chatfield, of the 113 Illinois Regiment and his extended family for whom the road, park and dam are named. 

Central Library,  Conference Center, Level B2

Tuesday, September 28, 5:30 - 8 p.m.

Center for Colorado and the West

The Center for Colorado and the West, established on the Auraria Campus in 2009, has a delightful website which presents content of interest to any student or enthusiast of Colorado's past.

The Center's website offers monthly lists of new publications sure to please students, scholars, and librarians in search of vital new works for their

Newspapers Beyond Western History & Genealogy ...

Western History & Genealogy has an extensive collection of newspapers, both original and preserved on microfilm. And with the loan of many (but not all) of the Colorado Historical Society's newspapers on microfilm, your research opportunities have expanded even more.

But what about the titles that we don't have?

Newspapers can be a challenge. Even with today's extraordinary library catalogs, what a library holds of a given newspaper title can be difficult to determine.